Service to others honored during nursing Hall of Fame induction

Dr. Phyllis Horns, left, and Dr. Sylvia Brown were inducted to the ECU College of Nursing Hall of Fame on Feb. 25. Photos by Cliff Hollis.

GREENVILLE, N.C.  —   Significant contributors to nursing education, administration, research and practice were honored Friday as 40 nurses were inducted to the inaugural Hall of Fame in the East Carolina University College of Nursing.

More than $40,000 raised through the creation of the Hall of Fame will support a new fund to provide merit-based scholarships for nursing students.

“Our legacy of excellence will continue with the scholarships,” said Dr. Sylvia Brown, dean of the College of Nursing.

The launching of the Hall of Fame program coincides with the 50th anniversary of nursing education at ECU.

Each inductee received a flame-shaped award, which Brown said reminded her of the nursing pin designed by the first nursing class 50 years ago.

“Each of our inductees is a bright light,” said Brown, who was inducted by vice chancellor of health sciences Phyllis Horns. Brown, in turn, inducted Dr. Horns. Horns served as dean of nursing for 19 years.

Horns described the college as a jewel in the health sciences division and commended Brown’s leadership and the creation of the Hall of Fame. “I am reminded daily of the accomplishments of everyone in this room and those who couldn’t be here tonight,” she said. “I take great pride in this college.”

Inductees were: Gale Adcock, Dr. Alta W. Andrews, Helen Merrill Brinson, Dr. Sylvia T. Brown, Marshall Dewayne Byrd, Mary Sue Cummings Collier, Cindy Matthews Duber, Dr. Frances R. Eason, Dr. Martha Keehner Engelke, Dr. Lou W. Everett, Selba Morris Harris, Dr. Linda Dunnam Hofler, Dr. Phyllis N. Horns, Jacqueline Hutcherson, Dr. Mary K. Kirkpatrick, Dr. Dixie Koldjeski, Cynthia Sturdivant Kotrady, Karen C. Krupa, Dr. Judith Kuykendall, Dr. Therese G. Lawler, Belinda Temple Lee, Dr. Deitra Lowdermilk, Bobby Lowery, Kimberly Glover McDaniel, Richard E. McDaniel, Dr. Dianne M. Marshburn, Hazel Browning Moore, Brenda Darden Myrick, Evelyn Perry, Eldean Pierce, Diane A. Poole, Dr. Donna Roberson, Dr. Mary Ann Rose, Louise Haigwood Sammons, Dr. Elaine S. Scott, Sylvene Spickerman, Dr. Debra C. Wallace, Dr. Sandra M. Walsh, Patricia Perry Womble, and Dr. Annette B. Wysocki.

“As you can see, we have a wonderful first class in our nursing hall of fame,” said Brown, who also thanked the college’s development advisory council and the 50th anniversary committee members.

Dr. Frances Eason, chair of the 50th anniversary committee and inductee, has been at the college since the 1960s, first as a student and then as a teacher. “I have seen over the years our College of Nursing grow and grow and grow, and it’s because of these people and many others that have helped us get there,” Eason said.

Dr. Donna Roberson, assistant professor, said the evening was a highlight of the 50th anniversary celebration and “to see all these wonderful contributors, not only to the College of Nursing, but to the profession of nursing” was outstanding.

Sue Collier, vice president of the patient/family experience office for University Health Systems of Eastern Carolina, said the induction “really represents the legacy of all the faculty and nurses who were my teachers and mentors. Throughout my career, none of this would be possible without the support of the teachers and really of all the patients we serve. That’s really what’s it all about. We are in a profession that serves,” Collier said.

The event was sponsored by Pitt County Memorial Hospital, CarolinaEast Medical Center, Wayne Memorial Hospital and J&H Insurance Services.

To see photos from the ceremony, go to